Employment of Minors

If you’re looking for summer help or to fill a part-time position during the weekends or after school hours, hiring a minor may be the best option for you. There are some laws to keep in mind when employing a minor in your state.

Per Rhode Island law, children aged 16-17 can work up to but not exceeding 48 hours per week; no more than 9 hours per day. Children cannot work before 6:00 AM or after 11:30 PM on School Days or after 1:30 AM the night before a school day. There is no curfew for non-students. The curfew is 9:00 PM during school vacations. Children must have an 8-hour rest between the end of one shift and the start of the next shift. Due to the equipment used to prepare food, Dan’s Management Company is not authorized to hire anyone under the age of 16.

Connecticut law states that during school weeks, children aged 16-17 can work from 6 a.m. to 11 p.m. (midnight if school vacation/not prior to a school day/not attending school); 6 hours per day; up to 32 hours per week; 8 hours per day on Friday, Saturday, Sunday

During non-school weeks children aged 16-17 can work 8 hours per day up to 48 hours a week no more than 6 days per week. Persons under 18 years old, not enrolled in school can work 9 hours per day; up to 48 hours per week.